|Facebook logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)|
On the downside, you will no longer be able to use your Facebook login to log into other websites (this is better for security anyway). You also will no longer be able to post photos automatically from your camera.
|Select the "Settings" item|
from the drop-down menu.
Right now, that page is located here: https://www.facebook.com/settings?tab=applications
That page can currently also be reached by clicking the drop down arrow on Facebook's blue bar, selecting "Settings" and on the "Settings Page" selecting "Apps" from the left-side column.
Note: If you're concerned that you may lose data from your Facebook account as a result of disabling the app platform (not an impossibility), you should download your Facebook Archive first!
Step 2: Disable Facebook Apps to Minimize Damage / Impact
On the Apps Settings Page, you will find a complete list of every Facebook App you've ever added to your account. Logged into Bloomberg or anywhere else using your Facebook Account? That was actually an app that you gave access to your Facebook details.
|Select "Apps" from the Settings|
At this point, you can start deleting apps from your account by clicking the small "X" next to each app. When you do so, you may be given the opportunity to delete all of the data that app has posted to your account. If the app is Instagram and you posted many photos to your account, obviously you probably do not want to delete the data the app has posted (so don't select the checkbox). If you were adding your Tweets to your Facebook account and the updates got to be overwhelming, you might feel differently now and this is your opportunity to delete all the prior updates posted by that app in one fell swoop.
Note: Don't miss a vital step here! Make sure that you have access to any accounts that you use Facebook to log into. For example, Stupeflix allows you to create free slideshow style videos using your Facebook login. If you wish to keep access to your videos, you'll need to log into Stupeflix at their homepage and add an email address and password prior to deleting the Facebook app from your Facebook account.
Step 3: Disable the Apps Platform
|Disable the Apps Platform on the Apps Settings Page.|
To do this, click the link that says "Edit" beneath "Apps, Websites and Plugins." Here you will switch "Enabled" to "Disabled." You'll see some warnings of course, but if you've backed up and deleted all your apps already, you have nothing to lose and your privacy to regain!